10k Training Week 4, Day 3

I didn’t miss a single run this week!

Today was a long, hard 3.65 miles.

I didn’t wanna.  The Blerch had a really good grip (a comic well worth the read, if you’re not already a fan).

I woke up later than planned (almost 9am), having to be at work for 1pm.  

My shoes that I had tried to stretch in the freezer had gotten wet when one of the ice bags broke.  I put them outside yesterday to dry, and it rained last night for the first time in months.  They were soaked.  I couldn’t wear the pair I have been wearing,  because they’re now giving me blisters.  

My legs are still sore from earlier in the week

It’s Saturday,  my partner offered to make a special breakfast, and I wanted nothing more than to curl up with a cup of coffee and delicious food.

I have cramps.

I also have this new strategy: I imagine telling myself or my partner why I didn’t do my run today.  

None of my excuses held up.  

I still had an hour for a run.

My partner went to the store for ingredients and then started cooking breakfast while I was out.  I didn’t have a ton of time, but there was enough to shower, then enjoy my meal and a coffee.

My old old shoes may be worn out, but I can wear them for one run – they don’t actively hurt my feet.

DOMS don’t get better by being left to atrophy.

Exercise helps cramps.

Damn.

Off I went.  

I ran by the waterfront,  and I have never been so happy to have it rain on a run.  I won’t say it was a great run.  It hurt.  I was tired and struggling and worried about the time crunch when I got home.  But it sure felt great to have done it, especially when I had wanted so badly not to.

Sometimes stubbornness is the only option.  Today that was definitely the case.

Sure is a beautiful view.

Leave a Reply

